Nikon D5100 or Nikon D7000

craiggriggs

Hi i'm new here and would like some help choosing between cameras.

So I've had my D3000 for over a year now and i love it but i feel its time for an upgrade.

I have been doing various research and i have come up with the D5100 and the D7000 both cameras I really like, but the problem i'm having is deciding if it is worth spending that much money on a D7000 when i could just buy the D5100 and have money left for lenses. If it came to it i would just save up for the D7000 as its a camera i really like the look of and Photography is something i want to do for a living, whether my standard is good enough to fork out the money for a D7000 i don't know.

I also don't know if its worth spending over £300 more on the D7000, obviously you get what you pay for but what would you say

If you wanted to see any of my pictures check out my deviant art craiggriggs on deviantART This might help in advising me as i really don't know what camera to get.

What would you suggest? Any comments would be much appreciated

Thanks

Dooku77

The D7000 has an autofocus motor in the body, which opens up a whole new world of older Nikon lenses and is more rugged with a 3/4 magnesium body. The D5100 has shares the same sensor, but you will not have the "autofocus" for older lenses if that is something that appeals to you. I just went ahead and purchased the D7k when I switched to Nikon ad I don't regret it one bit. I can't tell you how to spend your money, but my vote is for the D7k. It's a camera you will have for years and eventually when you want to upgrade from that it will serve as an excellent back up body.

craiggriggs