Post proccessing pictures

Status
Not open for further replies.

grandpaw

First of all I am an average photographer and do not claim to be any more than that. I like to take pictures and like to study other peoples pictures so I may learn from them and hopefully improve as I go along so as the passing years go by so I may get better. I enjoy looking at the pictures our members post on the different forums but I would like to suggest that I think a lot of the pictures are just way too over processed with Photoshop or some other program. I could be totally wrong here but in the case of pictures, I really believe that in most cases that the more you post process a picture the worse it gets. I think some of all pictures would benefit by having just some small adjustments done to them as compared to a overhaul in post processing. Please consider just some small quick adjustments and then leave it alone. To me the camera and your ability is what should produce 95% of the image with just a small fraction left for adjustments. I get in this discussion with a buddy of mine all the time. He will take a picture and spend hours in post processing working on it. This is just my thoughts, but if I have to spend much time at all in Photoshop, I must not have put the proper effort into taking the picture in the first place. This is meant only to be a helpful suggestion so please take it that way if you think it might apply. I hope this doesn't get me on anyone's naughty list.

If you have looked at any of my pictures you probably have a ton of suggestions of things I should be doing, so I guess that is what the reply button is for. I might add that I have noticed on some of my own pictures that I have overdone some post work myself and need to back off on the amount of adjustments that I make also. Jeff

Last edited:

AC016