Sharp photos with d5100

Myth

I am a newbie to SLR and learning a lot in the last 2 month. Bought d5100 and wanted to like it. Also playing with trial light room version 4.0. I always shoot in raw. I have watched several videos, read books, saw exif informatin of other photographers and also taken hundreds of photos in the last 2 months. My concern is not getting sharp photos. I set it up to vivid, increased saturation, tried light room also checking histograms for proper exposure etc. i am still not able to take sharp eye popping photos. What am i doing wrong in my photos and what should i pay attention? Any suggestion is wecome and my photos are in the gallery. Thanks in advance for all you advice and help.

Rick M

Some of your issues may be in post processing. A few things to enhance sharpening in Lightroom:

Increase contrast
Increase blacks
Increase clarity
Increase sharpening (default is zero)

Other things with the D5100:

Shoot at about ISO 200 (or higher)
Use a tripod below 1/100
f7-f8 for depth of field without diffraction

The other picture mode controls are not going to work in raw mode (in camera sharpening only works in jpeg)

pedroj

Post some of the images with the exif data and we can have a look and get an idea...

The things that will cause your photos to not be sharp are technique or movement by you or your subject...

Select auto focus constant this will help if you or subject is moving...Use VR which will help...Don't press the shutter button to hard otherwise you will shake the camera..

Your technique is very important..Have a look at this link and others on his site..

Breathing Technique- Taking Pictures in Low Light - YouTube

Dave_W

The Dude