What to buy next?

unlvgrad03

I am new to the forum and new to the DSLR world. I purchased a D5100 kit a few months ago and it came with a 18-55mm VR Lens and Nikon 55-200mm VR Lens.

I want to purchase more equipment, a new lens maybe a Speedlight. My question to the experts is what should I buy next that will give me the most bang for my buck so to speak.

I am a novice and my camera is really more of a hobby then a profession so I don’t want to put a ton of money in right away.

Eye-level

Banned
Most bang for the buck? What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas...LOL

All kidding aside I think the new 28G or a 35G fast prime would be great for Vegas at night.

What I would like to have that is very reasonable would be a circular polarizer...again that would be good for Vegas in the daytime.

Most of us are hobbyist some a little more enthusiastic about our cameras than our kids and pets and S.O. but I will tell you this if you start getting into it you'll FIND a ton of money to put into it somewhere I promise! lol :)

airman85b

Hello,
I would start off with a good case/backpack and a good tripod. It depends on what tyrpe of photos you will be taking to know what will give you the most bang for the buck. But what ever you take photos of you will need a good case and tripod.

Mike150

I heard 9mm ammo is really cheap when you buy 1000 rounds at a time. That's a lot of bangs.

I just bought an SB700 and love it. Sure puts that red eye worry to bed. I also think considering a good tripod for low light conditions would be a good bet too.

pedroj

I heard 9mm ammo is really cheap when you buy 1000 rounds at a time. That's a lot of bangs.

I just bought an SB700 and love it. Sure puts that red eye worry to bed. I also think considering a good tripod for low light conditions would be a good bet too.

I have the SB-600...Hopefully in August I'll purchase the SB-700 and try and find a second 600..

bluenoser

Banned