Music Venue Photographer- Need suggestions

lizard89

Hey everyone,

I am an amateur photographer who takes pictures for local bands and musicians. Most of these venues are back alley bars with terrible lighting (i.e. low light, changing light) and i've been trying out lots of different settings trying to get it right. In addition to low light, I have problems with shutter speed. I currently have my focal length set at 3.2 (not great, but better) and shutter speed at 1/8. I almost exclusively use the manual setting on my P100. I just CANNOT seem to get it right. The more I change it, the more the quality of the images suffer. At the time I bought this camera, it was all I could afford after my previous camera was stolen.

Any suggestions?

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Sometimes terrible light as you've experience prevents from taking photographs. Photography is just a way of capturing the light reflected from our subjects. If there is no or not enough light, no photography will be good. In the case of bands in dark bars, the only suggestion I have for you is that you use flash, or get a D3s and use very to extremely high iso to get a shutter speed that will stop the movements of the musicians. There is just no way around this, no light, no pictures.

Now if your subjects were not moving, you could use a tripod and a long shutter speed, but for bands, no go.

Just my 2 cents.

bluenoser

Banned
Mission impossible?

Hey everyone, I am an amateur photographer who takes pictures for local bands and musicians. Most of these venues are back alley bars with terrible lighting (i.e. low light, changing light) and i've been trying out lots of different settings trying to get it right.