New photographer looking to get my first dslr

ruckus09

Hey shutter bugs so I'm looking to buy a new camera. I am looking for a NIKON. I am a web designer and I work with the boy scouts and civil air patrol where I web design for both orgs and my frat.

Any way the three orgs would like me to be their photographer. I would like to buy a NIKON like I said earlier. And all I know for sure is that I want it to have the continuous shooting feature. Money is not really an issue but I would not buy the most expensive camera just for the sake of buying an expensive camera. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I should get?

Thanks in advance and if I posted this in the wrong section I apologize.

Last edited by a moderator:

bluenoser

Banned
Hi there and welcome to Nikonites.

How did you decide you want a Nikon? A good place to start would be the Nikon 3200 but not knowing exactly what type of photography your doing it's difficult to say for sure. Also, the camera body is one thing but you will also have to consider which lens or lenses you wish to purchase with your camera. Many, many choices and options depending on your preferences, circumstances and goals.

fotojack

Start with the D90 and a couple of good lenses, like the 18-55 VR and the 18-105 VR. This should serve your purposes very well.

ruckus09

Ive always preferred NIKON over canon. For no real reason. All of my point and shoot cans have been NIKON. I had one HP which pretty much blew up on me and my canon just stopped working. My nikons have always gotten the job done.

Eye-level

Banned
I'm like you I shoot Nikons but I know about some pretty damn cool Canons too...this one is 40 some years old and still shooting like a sniper rifle...so you have to be real careful with making generalizations...except for you can say a Nikon will never let you down anytime you want to say it! :)

Get a D51K!

Canonet.JPG

Last edited:

ruckus09