is NIKKOR AF-S 50mm f/1.8 an option?

NikonGirl

I'm new to my 5100, and Nikon in general - bare with me, I just came over to the "dark side" :p

I know there are some restrictions due to the inability to Auto Focus with some lenses... this doesn't matter much to me as I prefer to Manually focus anyway.... but is this lense compatible with my D5100?

Thanks in advance
:D

westmill

Banned
Yes ! AFS lenses are compatible with all Nikon cameras as they have a motor in the lens.
The older D series needs to be used with cameras that are able to drive the lens since they do not have a built in motor.

NikonGirl

Yes ! AFS lenses are compatible with all Nikon cameras as they have a motor in the lens.
The older D series needs to be used with cameras that are able to drive the lens since they do not have a built in motor.

That explains my question .. the only Nikon I've used prior to my D5100 is the D60

Mike150

The D5100 should be able to use any AF-S lens. Look in your manual's index and find Lenses. You will find a chart showing the types of lenses that are compatible.

NikonGirl

I've toyed with a friends 5100 a couple of times - mine, admittedly, is still sitting behind a desk at Best Buy - I can't get to the city until Friday night to pick it up.

I was just curious. I primarily shoot portrait and action (horses in motion) so i'd like to eventually buy a prime lens for Portraits.

This doesn't really pertain to the OP, but what lens would you guys suggest for action shots such as horses in motion? I'm sticking with the standard 18 - 55mm ... just for future reference :)

westmill

Banned
I've toyed with a friends 5100 a couple of times - mine, admittedly, is still sitting behind a desk at Best Buy - I can't get to the city until Friday night to pick it up.

I was just curious. I primarily shoot portrait and action (horses in motion) so i'd like to eventually buy a prime lens for Portraits.