Photoshop file conversion.

Claudia!

Hi everyone! I have been using View Nx and Adobe Lightroom 3 for my editing software. I also have photoshop cs4. I have been hesitant to use it because of how difficult it is to learn it. I have been trying to take steps in learning more about it little by little. One of the issues I have is that I shoot in raw but photoshop does not accept such files. When I try to open a raw file from the "my pictures" album, it states "Could not open because it is not a valid photoshop document." If I convert it to jpeg, I am able to use the file. My understanding is that you have more room to work with as far as editing with a raw file versus a jpeg. If I convert it to a jpeg, do I lose the room to work with? I would rather edit it as a raw file rather than jpeg. I am still learning photoshop. I have learned View Nx2 and lightroom well. I just want to be able to do more but with a raw file. If there is another form to edit the photos rather than jpeg or raw that still gives me the flexibility of a raw file, please let me know.

Eduard

Super Mod
Staff member
Super Mod
You'll need at least Photoshop CS5 to open a D7000 RAW/NEF file. CS4 does not support that camera body.

If you convert your NEFs to DNG first, CS4 will open that version of a D7000 RAW file.

westmill

Banned
You'll need at least Photoshop CS5 to open a D7000 RAW/NEF file. CS4 does not support that camera body.

If you convert your NEFs to DNG first, CS4 will open that version of a D7000 RAW file.
Yes... I should have realized lol Adobe never update older versions once they have have a new version out.
I guess its there way of forcing everyone to buy the latest gear. Another good reason to buy Capture NX instead lol :D

Eduard

Super Mod
Staff member
Super Mod
Yes... I should have realized lol Adobe never update older versions once they have have a new version out.