UV Filters

dddodgerrr

As a complete beginner at dslr photography I have been doing a lot of reading lately about the importance of good quality UV Filters on your lenses. After looking at all the different makes and prices I have got myself somewhat confused by the choice. Is there any particular makes I should use and just as importantly is there any that I should steer clear of.

AC016

All i can say is that it is a good investment. I bought a Rocketfish (bestbuy brand) and it works fine. I do notice that in my pictures, the blue sky is a deeper blue though. Other than that, it will protect your lens element. If your filter gets scratched, it's less painful to pay $20 bucks for a new filter than it is to repair or buy a new lens. That is all i can say about that.

Eduard

Super Mod
Staff member
Super Mod
I don't use UV filters. I've read arguments for and against but decided after researching that just filters aren't of the same quality as the glass in my lenses.

fotojack

I don't use filters either, unless the shot absolutely calls for one. Not6hing worse than seeing a good shot, then realizing you've got the wrong UV filter on! I'm just super careful with my equipment in the field.

If you really feel the need for filters, Hoya, B+W and Tiffen are the two you'd want to stay with.

bluenoser

Banned
Well the filter or non-filter debate is as divisive and heated and the JPEG vs. RAW debate! :) All I can say is that if you decide to use them, get a good quality one. I use UV filters on my higher end lenses but not on my "non-pro" lenses. My UV filter of choice is the B+W 77 XS-Pro UV MRC-Nano 010M Filter

If you really feel the need for filters, Hoya, B+W and Tiffen are the two you'd want to stay with.

I think you better stick with grammar and spelling Jack...I'm thinking math isn't your strong suit!!!:glee::glee:

Last edited:

Sambr

Every single one of my lens has a UV filter - As for IQ with the the UV filters, my photos speak for themselves.

Mike150