Beginner going on holiday.

punit12

Hi everyone!

I'm new to the forum, and to photography in general- using my iPhone 4S as my main camera until now. I am a university student and bought my Nikon D3100 with 18-55mm kit lens last week. I've been reading up a lot and trying to take cool photos- it's a real distraction at the moment with 6 exams coming up, starting tomorrow! I have also bought a second hand Nikkor 55-200mm DX VR AF-S zoom lens, and a portable FujiFilm tripod too.

After exams finish (in 3 weeks) I am going on a family trip to California (Palm Springs) for a week and then to Las Vegas (can't wait!). I bought the camera to take some beautiful photos when I am there. In California it will mostly be "snapshots" at theme parks and beaches etc, while in Vegas I am looking to try and take some cool night shots and sweeping landscape shots of the Grand Canyon, National Parks and Hoover Dam etc...

I'm just looking for any tips for the different types of photo that I want to take? For example when I am at SeaWorld and want to zoom in and take a quick shot of Shamu (the whale lol) jumping in mid air, would I use a quick shutter speed and small aperture, and an ISO of 100-200? For the more scenic shots what sort of settings would I use? Same for the night ones? I'm assuming a tripod is a must to get best results, with a middle ISO to reduce noise, and a slow shutter speed?

Thanks for the help!

jdeg

^ broke something
Staff member
Welcome to the site :)

Depending on what you want out of a photo while going to different places/settings/lighting conditions, you'll have to have different settings for all. Most of the time I keep my camera on auto or A mode because I simply don't have time to mess with settings while moving around, and you may find yourself doing the same until you get the hang of things some more. Otherwise a shot that would have come out great is going to be blurry or underexposed. A tripod will definitely help with those low light situations.