lint in the mirror.

Claudia!

I went out to take photos today. I found a piece of lint in the mirror. I checked the viewfinder and the lens. I finally took off the lens and saw it on the mirror. I know this is the most sensitive place for the camera. I tried the whole "lock the mirror up for cleaning" and used a dust blower. It did not help. The lint is still in the mirror. I am a bit scared to do anything else. I don't want to damage anything. The lint is a little bigger than a pen mark. I don't know what else to do. Does anyone have any advice?

ohkphoto

Snow White
Is the lint on the mirror or on the sensor? If it's on the mirror you can use a (sensor) swab with some lens cleaner on it to clean the mirror. If it's on the sensor, then you do need to take more precautions because THAT part is the most sensitive part.

Claudia!

hmmm being a newbie, I am honestly not sure. What is the difference? I looked at the manual. The pic points to the mirror. The particle is on the bottom section. I am assuming it is the mirror because of the reflection.

ohkphoto

Snow White
DON'T raise the mirror. Use a swab moistened with lens cleaner and just gently wipe the mirror. You don't need a lot of fluid on the swab. Just slightly moist.

Claudia!

Update: I cleaned the mirror. I was able to remove the particle BUT I ended up scratching th mirror. You can't see it through the view finder. It doesn't reflect onto the pictures. It is a big scratch though. It is getting on my nerves. Will nikon fix this?

ohkphoto

Snow White
I doubt that your mirror is scratched unless you used a nail file to clean it. I clean my mirror with a swab very frequently and never scratched it. I'm suspecting those are streaks on your mirror. It sound like you just need to go to a camera store and ask them to clean your mirror.

Claudia!