Macro - Micro?

Lscha

If I wanted to start taking photos of water drops (such as dew) and close-up flowers and insects, which lens would you recommend that I save up for? I use a D3100. Thanks.

JoeLewisPhotography

Nikon 105mm VR Micro ($924-ish) is where it's at. That is the cream of the crop. I have one and it is just stellar. You can opt for the 60mm version for less ($569-ish) , but personally, I dont think it has enough reach for insects. It would be fine however, for things that wont get scared and run/fly away. Then, there is always the 40mm ($269-ish) but I think that is just a waste.

I won't recommend any 3rd party macro lenses as I have no experience with them. I do however own 3rd party lenses that are stellar so don't count them out.

JoeLewisPhotography

For you it may not be a waste, but if you are serious about Macro, or want to approach critters....a 40mm focal length wont cut it, as you would have to practically be on top of what you are shooting. (the focal length is what I was referring to as a waste).

It all comes down to your budget and how serious you want to take it. My 105 helps me make money, therefore i could justify the $900+ price tag.

jcottone45

Nikon 105mm VR Micro ($924-ish) is where it's at. That is the cream of the crop. I have one and it is just stellar. You can opt for the 60mm version for less ($569-ish) , but personally, I dont think it has enough reach for insects. It would be fine however, for things that wont get scared and run/fly away. Then, there is always the 40mm ($269-ish) but I think that is just a waste.

I won't recommend any 3rd party macro lenses as I have no experience with them. I do however own 3rd party lenses that are stellar so don't count them out.
Hi Joe, I have an older Non CPU Nikkor lens the 105mm F2.5 that does not have a macro/micro feature that I use & seems to work ok for my needs.Is this lens the forerunner of the lens you have???

JoeLewisPhotography