D7000 VS. D800 (Identical article in the D800 forum)

texaslimo

I am considering purchasing a new camera and am stuck between the Nikon D800 and the Nikon D7000. The 800 is considerably more expensive, but is a 36MP full frame camera versus the 7000 which is 16MP and DX formatted.
I am an amateur at best. I understand the concepts of photography, but not well enough to set my current DSLR (a D70) to manual if the shot is to count. This may change as I continue to learn more. I most frequently use the program or auto selections on my current camera. I will most often be taking nature shots, either landscape or macro. I will occasionally shoot portraits as well.
Overall, the 800 is a much better camera, I believe. I need to find out whether it will still be so much better of a camera when using my current lenses, or if I will have to upgrade to FX lenses to see the better quality over the D7000. My current lenses are:
Nikon DX AF-S 18-70mm 1:3.5-4.5G ED
Nikon AF-S 70-300mm 1:4.5-5.6G ED VR

1. Are the improvements of the 800 enough over the 7000 to be worth the purchase price?
  2. Are these improvements ones that I will be able to appreciate without being a professional? It does me no good to dole out dollars for advances that I will not likely be able to notice.
  3. If I shoot with the 800 using a DX lens, will I end up with a 36MP shot or a reduced MP picture due to the cropping effect of the DX lens?

pedroj

[3] I think the 36 megapixels become less...[2] I'm not sure you would notice the difference...[1] maybe, but to get the best out of the expensive D800 I feel you would need FX lens..

If it was me I would probably buy the D7000 and some better lens that can be used on DX/FX for a future shift to full frame...

gfinlayson

The D800 is a pro-grade FX camera and requires very good technique to get the most out of its 36MP sensor.