D800 vs. D7000

texaslimo

I am considering purchasing a new camera and am stuck between the Nikon D800 and the Nikon D7000. The 800 is considerably more expensive, but is a 36MP full frame camera versus the 7000 which is 16MP and DX formatted.
I am an amateur at best. I understand the concepts of photography, but not well enough to set my current DSLR (a D70) to manual if the shot is to count. This may change as I continue to learn more. I most frequently use the program or auto selections on my current camera. I will most often be taking nature shots, either landscape or macro. I will occasionally shoot portraits as well.
Overall, the 800 is a much better camera, I believe. I need to find out whether it will still be so much better of a camera when using my current lenses, or if I will have to upgrade to FX lenses to see the better quality over the D7000. Eventually i will get FX lenses, but eventually. My current lenses are:
Nikon DX AF-S 18-70mm 1:3.5-4.5G ED
Nikon AF-S 70-300mm 1:4.5-5.6G ED VR

1. Are the improvements of the 800 enough over the 7000 to be worth the purchase price?
  2. Are these improvements ones that I will be able to appreciate without being a professional? It does me no good to dole out dollars for advances that I will not likely be able to notice.
  3. If I shoot with the 800 using a DX lens, will I end up with a 36MP shot or a reduced MP picture due to the cropping effect of the DX lens?

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
I think that you'd be much better served with a D7000. Get some lenses with the money saved and you'll be very happy.

Sure a Ferrari is a better car than a Cruze. But just to go to work which one would you need.

Rick M

Both of those are more advanced than the D70, which it sounds like you have not yet mastered. The D800 is a huge jump and without skill, you may be disappointed. I'd say the D7000, but it sounds like you should master the basics on what you currently have first.

Last edited:

Phillydog1958