Good Wide Angle For Occasional Shots

DaveW

Hi Chaps.

I'm in a bit of a dilemma. I hardly ever need a wide angle lens for any of the photography I do. It just has never come up that often if at all.
However, over the last few weeks I have been asked to take some group shots of Football teams, a Trophy presentation night, and even a school reunion party.
I'm not a pro or even a semi pro, and all my stuff is basically portrait and things which a wide angle is never needed.

I just wondered if anyone has any advice on a getting a decent wide angle lens - even third party - that wont break the bank for occasional stuff like this?

DaveW

Eduard

Super Mod
Staff member
Super Mod
I use a Sigma 10-20. You can sometimes find a great deal on a used one but even new it is less than US$500. I've been very happy with mine.

westmill

Banned
Most of the Nikon standard zoom lenses perform really well at the wider end of the scale.
The 18-70 3.5-4.5 springs to mind here. great at 18mm with a very flat feild curvature.
If you want wider, then the 16-85 is good when stopped down a little to 5.6 etc.
If you want a propper wide angle, the Tokina 11-16 2.8 is prob about the best.
Superb IQ throughout. It has a weakness in CAs though. Easily correctable in photoshop though. In camera too if your shooting JPG.

Geoffc

I'd second the Tokina, it's awesome. One thing to consider, it has such a small zoom range you are always very wide, but if that's what you need it is the way to go.

The 18-70, that made me smile as I gave mine to my daughter a while ago with my old D70 but I think I'm getting it back as she's not that interested at the moment. I did take shots and compare it with the 18-200 but found the latter a bit better. That said the 18-200 is more expensive as well.

Eduard

Super Mod
Staff member
Super Mod