D3200 a good beginner DSLR?

arsalann24

So I am a beginner ans haven't owned a DSLR yet, so I'm still exactly sure what to look for. I did do some research but again like I said I am beginner. These two cameras are the ones that I have been looking at and I can't really decide. I want a good, solid camera but also one that won't be ridiculously hard for a beginner to use. I know that the d3200 is an entry level one, but Amazon currently has the same price for both models.

I'm going on a trip to Europe in June and I want to buy a camera before then. Also, what kind of lenses would you guys recommend to buy as well as a starter kit or something?

Thanks for the help.

jdeg

^ broke something
Staff member
I think either the D3200 or D5100 would be good choices for beginners. Since they're the same price, I would go with the d5100 just for the exposure bracketing and higher expandable ISO. Do you need 24mp? Probably not.

The kit 18-55 lens is pretty good for travel. If you want or expect to be zooming a lot take a look at the 55-200mm or 55-300mm. I like the 55-300 better, but of course it costs a little more.

arsalann24

Thanks for the feedback. I think that the D5100 seems like a better deal as well. The D3200 is coming out sometime this month, right?

Eye-level

Banned
Get you a couple of Nikkor zooms that cover 18 to 300 and the 3200 and you have one helluva kit...

Personally I would buy a used 5000 and spend the difference on a lens...or a 5100 would be nice...

Spend the money on glass at any rate... :)

Just-Clayton