uv filter negitive effect on shots

lee786

Hi I have ordered a Hoya UV filter and a skylight 1B mainly to protect my kit 18-55mm lens
but have just been informed on another forum that these are the wrong thing to use

opinions?

westmill

Banned
It very much depends on the filter itself. A cheapo filter can certainly ruin the quality of any lens.
Its not just about the the coating either. Some can even be made of plastic.
A UV filter to protect that front element is a good idea. BUT ! Only if you use a top quality filter
like the Hoya pro. These are glass, and much thinner than standard, and multi-coated.
Its not just the rims which are thinner, the actual glass is thinner than a normal filter.
image deterioration when using filters like the hoya pro is tiny.

lee786

both are Hoya but only standard both only cost me £10 I will no doubt get higher grade
filters with time but I am just getting started

westmill

Banned
Well you can always test them, once you get them.
Just take a pic before you fit the filter on lens and take the same pic with the filter fitted.
Just make sure you do it exactly the same.

eurotrash

Had a Quantaray filter on my camera's lenses for ...well, since I bought it. Recently took it off and am enjoying a tad sharper and more colourful pictures. Cheap glass will bring cheap results. Though, if you're only aim is to protect your glass and you can deal with the very slight loss of quality, go for it. That's what I did :)

I'm currently in the market for a nice Polarizer however with all that said..

Had a Quantaray filter on my camera's lenses for ...well, since I bought it. Recently took it off and am enjoying a tad sharper and more colourful pictures. Cheap glass will bring cheap results. Though, if you're only aim is to protect your glass and you can deal with the very slight loss of quality, go for it. That's what I did :)

I'm currently in the market for a nice Polarizer however with all that said..