New to the D3100, looking for some feedback

VTJäger

Hi all,

I'm brand new to the DLSR world and just got a D3100 a week or two ago. I've read the manual, and I have been lurking around here just reading the tips and posts that I thought might be helpful. I'm still learning about ISO, F/stop and aperture and how they all interconnect, etc.

That being said, I went to the National Cherry Blossom festival this past weekend and took some pictures. Some are good, others not so much but I've found that some images look a little "washed out" I fixed this in Light room 4 but would like to know how to get the camera to take pictures like that instead of having to compensate in Light room. I have a before and after shot of one picture. Can anyone tell me if this is possible? or am I expecting too much?

beforeandafter.jpg

Here is the EXIF data for the original which was output as NEF:

EXIF.jpg

SteveH

Hi,
I'm new to the D3100 also, but one thing to check could be the Active-D lighting... I've read it can washout colours a little. Try taking the same picture with it on, and then with it off to see what difference you get - I think the difference would be quite noticeable with close up pictures such as your example.

VTJäger

Yea, I turned it off for all of these pictures, I might take to see if it helps turned on. It was one of the first things I turned off as soon as I unboxed it.

Obir

Hello,
You may just need to increase your shutter speed just a tad, or dial negative exposure compensation.
The first shot just looks a little overexposed to me (just my opinion:)).
Also, you may want to explore the Picture Controls settings and adjust them until you get them just right for your shooting preferences.
Hope this helps:)

Last edited:

VTJäger

Awesome, thank you for the tips! I'll have to take a look into those, I agree it does look overexposed and since this was a cloudy/rainy day, I was confused as to why it was as such.

Mike150