First Lenses: Zooms V Primes on D7000

briandunlea

Hi all, I've been thinking, that's never a good sign.
I've posted about lenses before but this is a new angle (pardon the pun).
I'm torn between buying 3 primes or a zoom and one prime.

I'm buying a d7000 which I'll be getting in about a week. I've spent a lot of time thinking about this and I've narrowed my options down to two choices (but I'm open to suggestions of course).

OPTION 1 (PRIMES) Total Price: €1,079 max, probably 10% cheaper:
Nikkor 24mm f/2.8D
Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G DX
Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G

OPTION 2 (ZOOM AND PRIME) Total Price €1,185 max:
Nikkor 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G DX
Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G

I've analysed my shooting and the shots I like.
I love the 50mm (75mm equiv) length and I've been leaving my Fuji x10 at that zoom length to experiment.

Also I've analysed my shots so far and 86% are between 28mm and 75mm.

With option 1 I know I'll be losing 8mm at the wide angle but I don't see it as a major problem.
As I'm a musician I'm attracted by the "faster" primes for low light shooting. I can see the versatility in a zoom lens and the fact that I wouldn't have to change lenses as much. But I don't know if that would be much of an issue. Hard to say.

I also would like to have the option to keep the lenses if I move to fx in a few years, excluding the 35mm DX and 16-85mm of course.

You can see what I've been shooting so far with the Fuji X10 (a camera I love) at Flickr: BrianDunlea's Photostream
It's a long post I know but I'd prefer to get as much info in as I can to let you know where I'm at.

Thanks in advance to any who answer or who have any suggestions.
Cheers,
Brian.

Bukitimah

Personally, I love prime after owning the nikon AFD 50 f1.8. But I am not sure you want 3 prime at such a close range. Changing lenses will be cumbersome.

Eye-level

Banned