Equipment for my D3100.

airman85b

I just got my D3100 and love it. I have the kit lens and the 35mm f/1.8 lens. I mostly like to do outdoor landscape/natural/buildings. I know I need a good tripod. Being stationed overseas I cant touch and try stuff out for my camera. So if anyone can help me find a good light tripod. I don't care about the price but I'm still a rookie. I would like to buy a good one now, then buy a cheap one and have to buy another one later on. Also if anyone has any advice on what else I should get for my camera. Thank you

Keith

Last edited:

fotojack

In your owners manual, it should tell you the weight of your camera. When buying a tripod, find one that can hold twice or even three times that weight. Great tripods I can recommend are Manfrotto 055 and the Gitzo 2331. If you're on any kind of budget, stick with a Manfrotto. And of course, don't forget to get a good ball head for your tripod, too, such as a Manfrotto 496RC2.

You live overseas. Where overseas? It helps when we know these things so we can best answer any questions you may have. :)

Rick M

I just picked up a Benro A150EXU for a light travel tripod, it is fantastic for the money. It comes with a ball head and quick release plate, about $69 at BH photo. This tripod is for small DSLR's like the D3100, agian it's light duty for travel/carrying around all day.

Phillydog1958

Where in Germany? Have you tried shopping the local economy? There are likely more camera shops in larger cities such as Munich or Frankfurt, etc . . . And what about the PX system? I was stationed in Germany many years ago. I'm sure things have changed.

airman85b

I bought my camera at the BX. But they have no equipment/lenses for sale. I would have to drive about a 3hr round trip to see a good camera shop.

airman85b

I'm at Ramstein but there are no camera shops around I have to go to Frankfurt. My friend went to Saarbrucken and the shops there are to expensive.

steptoe