Shopping list

Tewy

Ok, after two years of scrimping, and saving and deciding what Nikon to get last week my D5100 arrived. I did do photography as part of my A-level Art course but that was before the digital era, so I have some basic knowledge and also a lot has changed. I have discovered that I want a lense that offers me way more zoom but there are so many it seems quite daunting. Also what should I have in my kit? I have a basic tripod, a bag and a remote, and that it. Any suggestions appreciated.

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
So which lens did you get with your camera? Or did you just get the camera without lens?

If you bought a kit, you probably got a 18-55. This is a great lens, not too luminous, but sharp and it does it's thing. When I first started with the D90, I bought a 18-200 Nikkor VR and it's been very handy. Not the sharpest but very practical. It's the lens that I usually take vacationing. It all depends what you are looking for, how much money are you ready to spend, are you buying short or long term?
One thing I know is that if you buy Nikkor lenses, you can sell them later whenever you are ready to upgrade to pro lenses which are more expensive but give better results depending on who is using them.

Blurrymess

Ok, after two years of scrimping, and saving and deciding what Nikon to get last week my D5100 arrived. I did do photography as part of my A-level Art course but that was before the digital era, so I have some basic knowledge and also a lot has changed. I have discovered that I want a lense that offers me way more zoom but there are so many it seems quite daunting. Also what should I have in my kit? I have a basic tripod, a bag and a remote, and that it. Any suggestions appreciated.