New to Nikon, recommended flash for D5100?

JIR004

Good afternoon everyone,

I am new Nikon cameras, I have used film SLR cameras for a while like Pentax ZX-50 and then later on a Canon AE-1 program. I started borrowing my friends Canon t2i and I loved it! But then I was talked into a D5100 (my first DSLR), which I am inlove with! I am a beginner photographer and I've always loved to be a bit more artistic with my photography since I am also into graphic design. I currently have the kit lens, and my 50mm lens is on it's way (for portraits mainly) However, I was wondering which flash do you all recommend for in doors/studio photography (I have made my own home made back drop) I was considering a ring flash, but I have never used one.
I am open to buying an on camera flash, slave, ring, or even maybe some umbrellas.
I am a college student so go easy on the prices lol I don't have much on my pockets :)

Hope you all have a wonderful day.

Also any recommendation on lenses will be great!

Eye-level

Banned
Hello welcome to Nikonites. The D5100 is a great camera you will find many folks here who use the D5100. Don't much about flash but I have a SB400 coming soon so I guess I am fixing to learn. Just about any Nikon lens is a good one. I would look at KEH I've bought a few lenses and a few cameras from them and they do a first rate job from beginning to end.

fotojack

Welcome to the forums, JIR. The Nikon flash I would recommend is the SB-700. It's idiot proof. :) Look for a previously enjoyed one on Craigslist or eBay, or even in your local paper. They can be had for less than $400.

bluenoser

Banned