Hello from Ireland

briandunlea

Hi all, just a quick hello. My name is Brian and I have a confession. I don't own a Nikon YET. But my birthday (40 ooolldd) is in March and after a long time deciding on a body I've chosen the D7000, a 16-85mm zoom and I'm deciding between a 35mm 1.8 and a 40mm micro for street shooting and close-up photography.

I'm a noobie photographer but I have definitely found something I love other than music.

At the moment I'm using a Fuji X10 which I love and it never leaves my side.

I hope you'll still welcome me as a candidate Nikon user :)

Here's some of my shots so far.
Flickr: BrianDunlea's Photostream

That's it!
Cheers,
Brian.

Carolina Photo Guy

I don't drink Bushmills. Does that disqualify me from being a friend?

Welcome to Nikonites. We're glad to have ya here!

You have any questions, just ask. If you're lucky, I'll NOT be the one that answers it!

(I never let facts get in the way of a good story!) :)

oldsalt

G'day Brian,
you'll love the D7000 - a lot to learn but it's worth every penny. I have the 1.8 35mm and it's very good for "street" use, I also bought an "old" AIS 55mm 2.8 macro lens ... lovely bit of glass, anyway have fun and enjoy your new "toy".
Peter

briandunlea

Hey Carolina and Peter, thanks for the warm welcome, much appreciated. And Carolina, go for Jameson or Powers, they're distilled 15 minutes down the road from me. I don't drink (much) so you can drink what you like :) Friends it is.

Thanks for the info Peter, Looking forward to the challenge. The X10 can run in manual so that's where I started getting my head around shutter speed, ISO, and aperture. I'm learning as much as I can and it's rewarding me tenfold. The 1.8 seems to be a very popular lens and I might be better off with that as a starting point.

Or else a 20mm or 24 to give me a roughly 35mm POV. We'll see. Anyhow, I'm sure I'll have thousands of questions for you guys in a month when I get my D7K.

Thanks for the warm welcome,

Brian.