Tripod confusion

cbgold

I'm still new at this and want to buy my first tripod. Tried to do some research here but there is so much to choose from I don't know where to start. I have a D3100, Tamron 18-270mm and Nikon 50mm lenses. All of my pictures are family and landscape for my own pleasure. I can spend around $200. What would you recommend? Thanks.

crisscross

I was very reluctant to use and carry a tripod for a long time and remain so as far as 'pro' stuff is concerned. However I saw a friend using a Velbon Ultrek and thought 'eureka!". It is rated for 2kg and you might just squeeze in. However it has a twin brother Rexi L rated for 4kg which I now have. A touch larger and less nifty than Ultrek, but really tall & sturdy for a 'travel' grade. Velbon - REXi L Should be within budget your side. I have the same QHD-53D Ball & Socket Head & it is far less fiddly than previous 3 way one I had

Ruidoso Bill

The big mistake for first tripod purchase is buying a cheap one, you know the $39 model that looks good but is never quite tall or sturdy enough. Many including myself made this mistake, not once but several times. If you want to take it on a hike the carbon fiber ones are pretty nice and light and expensive, if more for stationary use check ebay and look for a good manfrotto, I picked mine up for around $200 (probably a $500 tripod new). I love the stability and since I'm over 6' the hieght is great.

gqtuazon

Gear Head
It is always best to include your height. Do you plan on doing macro photography? Around $300 to $400 will get you better selection.

fotojack

Thanks for the information. Do tripods come with ball heads or is that a separate purchase?

Depends which tripod you get. Some (cheaper) ones come with a built in head, some come with a ball head (package deal), and some require that you pick your own ball head, such as a Manfrotto or a Gitzo tripod.

cbgold