D3000 blurry pics on tripod

Divvingup

Hey all. So i'm trying to take natural light with my camera and everytime i take a picture of myself or someone else while it's on the tripod the person is very blurry. Why does this happen and how can i prevent it?

Beginner here.

Carolina Photo Guy

Re: D30000 help

First things first.

A picture with the EXIF data would be very helpful.

That being said, I suspect that you have the camera set on Autofocus and you are taking the shot while the camera is still focusing.

Try slowing down a bit. I know you are in a hurry, but waiting a few seconds will probably not destroy your schedual! :)

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod

Was the person moving? How much light was there? Sometimes there isn't enough light to do certain pictures. Cameras don't see the same as our eyes see. You have to learn what it can and what it can't do. There is a learning curve to photography. Just practice and keep learning.

jdeg

^ broke something
Staff member

Hrm, something sounds fishy about this D30,000. Knockoff? (j/k I'll fix the title for you ;) )

Don

Hello, have d3000, I'm a newbee to the digital SLR, sugest you get the book," Nikon D3000 for Dummies".
easy to follow, and try turning off the VR-Vibration Reductance on your lens and yes take your time.

pedroj

If your lens has Vr it needs to be turned off on a tripod, also use auto focus constant [AF-C], and it pays to use your flash...

camerashy

Hi Don, I am new to DSLR camera's too, i found a book by Jon Sparks, titled Nikon 3000 The expanded guide. ISBN 978-1-906672-69-0 - £14.99.
Very comprehensive and easy read.

Sale

Hi
Sorry to bring back to life an old topic, but I think I'm experiencing the same thing on different subjects. This is a picture I took with my Nikon D3000 on a tripod:

http://www.salatti.net/DSC_0077.NEF

If you zoom in, things get blurry pretty fast. Am I doing something wrong or is that normal?
The camera was on a tripod and no VR...

Last edited: