Motorsports photography

Smcooper461

Hi everybody been away for a while lol. Still shooting motorsports. I need some help/advice on flash. I'm interested in investing in a good flash for my camera. I would only be interested in using the flash in the late evening/evening in the low-light. Obviously I can't use the Built-in flash (which tops out at 1/200th) for motosports lol. I'm using a D750 with F2/8 70-200mm lens. I'm also curious about the zoom length and the length of the flash?? Once again I have never used a flash before so please excuse my ignorance here lol. Anyway look forward to communicating more on this forum. Good day, Shawn Cooper

cwgrizz

Challenge Team
Welcome (back?) to the forum. What kind of motorsports are you shooting? Motorcycles, sprint cars, etc. I'm not sure that a flash will be of much good for this type of photography.
Depending on where you can shoot from will probably make a difference. To use a flash you will need something very strong (high power) and will still have to be close. This may be frowned on by drivers because of the flash interfering with their ability to see. There are some good tips available online, but I have yet to see one that mentions using a flash. More are geared around slowing your shutter speed down and panning to get the car/motorcycle in focus with the background blurred to get the feel of action. A shot frozen by flash or fast shutter speed gives the appearance of being parked which is not usually the effect that is desired.
Having said all of this, I have never shot a race. Ha! Just read alot.

Smcooper461