Macro photography

sarir97

Hey guys. 1st post here. New to "serious" photography.

I have a D90 and a few kit lenses (18-55 and 70-300). I also just purchased the 50mm prime f/1.8G for indoor portraits along with the SB-910 flash. I want to get into macro, but don't "yet" want to dish out >500$ for a dedicated macro lens, especially since I'm just starting out. I've read about close up filters and extension tubes as good alternatives.

Questions: between filters and extension tubes, which would you pick? Which brand? And if you picked closes-up filters, for which of my lenses?

Many thanks.

fotojack

Seriously.......I would pick neither. There's nothing like a dedicated macro lens. Take a look at Tokina, Tamron and Sigma macro lenses (in that order) as a cheaper alternative. You might even consider a previously owned lens, depending on what size you want. What kind of macro are you interested in? That will dictate the size of lens you'll want to get. My suggestion would be to start with at least a 60 or 90mm macro. However, if budget is a serious concern, then go for the extension tubes.

Ruidoso Bill

I have the Sigma 105 mm 2.8 and think it is a fine macro lens. It is very tight on focus but sharp as a tack when locked in. I use it primarily manual focus but it is AF but especially at the lower f the DOF is very shallow thus making it more reliable manually focused, I get in focus what I want and not what the lens thinks I want.

Berkerk

I'd pick extension tubes over, filters. The most popular/available are Kenko but I've seen good things written about the Polaroid, both of which are AF enabled. If you're on a really tight budget forget the AF ones and just pick up some manual ones, it won't really matter which brand. Your 50 will be best, reversed it'll be even better!

warriormom

i'm gonna jump in on this topic because i'm kind of in the same boat. i am looking at lenses and based on a few different suggestions from fotojack, ihave been looking at the