Hi from the North West

Status
Not open for further replies.

NW Nikon User

Hi,
I am new to photography and really excited about learning all about it. May take a while!! lol

I have a Nikon D5100, have absolutely no idea how to use it! Being honest!

I live in between Liverpool and Chester.

I can't wait to get out and take some photographs.

I may buy the "dummies" book for this camera, or can anyone suggest any other book beside the user manual that

may help a complete beginner please?

Looking forward to making new friends and learning lots!

Thank you for having me xxxxxx

jcottone45

Jack's right, you'll learn a great deal here & have fun too.!!
The only advice I have to offer: I had 33 yrs experience on Nikon film cameras, digital was a whole new ball game so I enrolled in a 1 day seminar by Nikon. It was a glorified course for dummies, but I did learn how to use the digital better than I had for the previous 2 months the D300s was in my hands. They even had a booklet on photography that helped too.!
The best learning curve though is to get out there & shoot/ trial & error, then of course I found this site & learned a great deal more. " though I am still the half assed photographer I was since the beginning.
Don't be shy, ask whatever you need to know. The guys & gals here are great & always willing to share their knowledge.!!!
Happy Shooting.

Last edited by a moderator:

gav329

Hi NW Nikon User

best of luck with the new Nikon, I'm a newbie too, just got mine 2 days ago and joined this forum today. I've been reading posts for the last month and they seem a really nice bunch so you'll get loads of help here def.

enjoy

gav:cool:

NW Nikon User

Hi everyone,
Thank you for such a warm welcome to the forum, loving it here and learning a lot by
reading previous posts too.
Look forward to speaking soon xxx :)

NW Nikon User

Good to know fotojack lol