Newbie question: Workflow with ViewNx2 and CaptureNx2

Boomer

I'm new to digital SLRs and in two months I've found myself with about 30Gb of pictures (ok, 3000 pictures from a trip to Africa and a few hundred others). I shoot in Raw+JPEG, but I'm thinking about going to RAW only.

I have View NX2 and purchased CaptureNX2. I also purchased Lightroom but I don't like it because it doesn't store the ratings, etc. in the NEF file, but in a sidecar file which the Nikon products won't read. I also like the CaptureNX2 editing capability. Lightroom is faster but I have a very fast computer, so I don't mind.

Here's my question. Can you give me suggestions on workflow from importing to the camera to having my final archived shots? Right now I have a mess with new pictures being mixed up from with the old pictures, original jpegs and post-edit jpegs confused, and multiple copies of each picture.

Follow-up clarification: I'm not looking for photo editing workflow (general picture changes to specific picture changes) but file management advice. Where do you import, move to, keep or discard, and backup.

Help!

Thanks!

Brian

Last edited:

Mike150

Hey Boomer,
I shoot both Raw and JPG, only because my wife wants to see the pictures as soon as they're loaded and not wait for me to convert them.
I use Lightroom which is a great Database manager, and a really powerful editor.
I've also got two external "Network" drives. A 500GB for the JPG files and a 1TB to back up the Raw files. My drives are physically connected to my router so every computer in the house can access them. Original raw files are kept on my C drive.

One of the first things I do when loading photos is to get rid of the obviously bad shots. You will know them when you see them. Out of focus, Blurry, etc.