Manual focusing with D3100

Boomer

I just came back from a safari in east Africa and took about 3000 pictures. I'm new to DSLRs, having only bought my D3100 about 6 weeks before the trip. The camera took some amazing photos and I was very happy with it except for one thing.

I've concluded that the only thing that autofocus is good for is birthday parties! In the bush, there was always a tree or limb closer to me than the animal I was trying to photograph and the auto focus always locked onto it. I typically ended up using manual focus which is difficult without a focus ring or something in the viewfinder except your eyeball.

See attached photo. The leopard was laying on a limb at 20 feet and the autofocus selected the limb instead of the leopard. It's subtle, but you can see that the limb is more focused than the leopard's eyes.

I tried putting the camera on "single point" autofocus, but instead of using the center point it picked some other single point which wasn't what I wanted.

I want to understand this problem and how to get around it.

Any suggestions?

Attachments

• Teaser.JPG
    Teaser.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 2,198

JohnFrench

You can select the focus points by the knob on top of the camera. I think the one you want for shots like the feline would be a "Portrait". I have had the same issue with detail shots of buildings, and the automatic selection would choose a leaf or something closer instead of the detail area I wanted.

Will V|Photography

John is on the right track but a little off. Are you shooting in a "Scene" mode or A,S,P,M?

When using single-point AF, you can control which point in your viewfinder focuses by using the directional pad on the back of the camera. Move the point where you want it, half-press the shutter, then once you have what you want in focus, then you can change your composition while keeping what you want in focus.