Nikon D3100 - is it me or is the camera defective??

Zack001

Hi All, I have a concern about my Nikon D3100's performance.

Briefly, I had a Canon XSI for about two years, and have been able to produce some amazing images using just kit lens and Lightroom. I am not a pro by any means, but have become good enough where I was able to get nice colors and sharp images with most of my shots - of course, it required editing raw shots in Lightroom. Then about 6 months ago I decided to switch to Nikon D3100, because I thought it was a better camera, and also purchased 35mm and 50mm f1.8 lens, in addition to kit lens.

However, I have not been able to produce nearly as nice images as with my Canon, despite using the same techniques, and same editing settings in Lightoom...my pictures do not come out nearly as sharp, and colors seem off, and overall are not any better than a point-and-shoot would produce, other than the dept of field that I can achieve with my lens vs point-and shoot. It is impossible to include examples, as I have shot may pictures, but I was wondering about feedback from people who might had similar experiences?

Is there a way to evaluate my camera to make sure it is not defective? I know I am not a pro, but I think there is more here than just me not knowing how to use the right settings.

robinchun

Are you using RAW with the D3100? perhaps you could put up some comparisons..someone might be able to give an explanation then (I do not have any issues and I too upgarded from a bridge camera)

Robin

jdeg

^ broke something
Staff member
Hi Zack, welcome to the site!

Have you noticed any patterns with what you're shooting and how you're shooting it? For example, are you seeing different results when you're using a certain mode on the camera? What focus mode are you using? Did you set the camera to a specific ISO vs auto ISO? Sharpness and color reproduction rely on a number of factors.