Looking for help with post processing...if even possible.

Beanbagfrags

Whenever I post process the images below, I get the bird looking ok, but background is out to lunch. What am I missing/doing wrong?

_JTD6264 copy.jpg_JTD6264.jpg

_JTD6252 copy.jpg_JTD6252.jpg

nickt

What are you using for processing and are you shooting raw? I'm just a beginner as far as post goes compared to most of the folks here. In Lightroom, I turned down the whites and highlights. Water was still a little bright, so I turned down the exposure and raised the shadows.
You should be able to do much better with the original, especially if you shoot raw.
_JTD6264 copy.jpg

RON_RIP

Well I think the 3rd photo in the set is just fine. The swirls in the water are great and you have eliminated the uninteresting foreground.

Over exposed and over saturated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Better, That is something you will need to work on when you are shooting the photos. You shoot for the highlights and bring up the shadow details in post. You really will need to be shooting in RAW to be able to take advantage of all the post processing that you can do. Study up on Histograms that you can see in your camera when you shoot.

Beanbagfrags

What are you using for processing and are you shooting raw? I'm just a beginner as far as post goes compared to most of the folks here. In Lightroom, I turned down the whites and highlights. Water was still a little bright, so I turned down the exposure and raised the shadows.
You should be able to do much better with the original, especially if you shoot raw.
View attachment 223624

I like your end product better, looks more realistic and light isn't so harsh on foreground/water.

Beanbagfrags