D3300 Settings for South African safari??

kipley1110

Hi all, so I am a total newbie to DSLRs and photography in general. I bought a Nikon D3300 with 18-55mm DX VRII & 55-200mm DX VRII lenses. I haven't had much time to practice with these and am pretty overwhelmed by all of the info. So of course I am going on an African Safari and thought I should rent a Nikon AF-S 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR lens for the trip. I won't be getting it until the day before we leave for our trip.

I'm hoping someone on here could do me a solid and suggest how to set a few settings on the camera to work with the different types of conditions I will be shooting - moving wildlife, animals far away, landscapes, etc. I literally have no idea where to begin. We are also going to shark diving and to see the penguins and mountains in Cape Town, so any recommendations on how to shoot those would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thank you in advance!

Horoscope Fish

Hi all, so I am a total newbie to DSLRs and photography in general. I bought a Nikon D3300 with 18-55mm DX VRII & 55-200mm DX VRII lenses. I haven't had much time to practice with these and am pretty overwhelmed by all of the info. So of course I am going on an African Safari and thought I should rent a Nikon AF-S 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR lens for the trip. I won't be getting it until the day before we leave for our trip.

I'm hoping someone on here could do me a solid and suggest how to set a few settings on the camera to work with the different types of conditions I will be shooting - moving wildlife, animals far away, landscapes, etc. I literally have no idea where to begin. We are also going to shark diving and to see the penguins and mountains in Cape Town, so any recommendations on how to shoot those would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thank you in advance!