Setup for indoor birthday party, need advice!

Anton5555

Hi! I've been practicing for a few months taking pictures In Manual mode, mostly daylight photos of flowers and other stuff, just to get an idea on how does this works.. I am familiar now with how to set up the camera and a little of post-processing. But today I can't fail, I'm taking pictures of my sister in law's 15 birthday. It's a small reunion at her place with family and friends.
Now to the technical stuff: it will be at night, indoor with light, and I will be taking portraits mostly.. So, I was thinking of using my 18-55 VRII (i also have a 35mm 1.8) with high ISO and fast shutter speed, and then play a little bit with aperture until I get it right. Any advice for a beginner??

Thanks in advance..

PD: sorry, my English is a little rusty..

RON_RIP

Because of the serious fluctuation of light inside, I switch from manual to Aperture preferred in circumstances like you are describing. Boost your ISO to around 1000 and you should be good to go.

cwgrizz

Challenge Team
@Anton5555

I am not an expert at this type of photography, but I think if I was going to do this I would try to shoot a portrait or two in a similar situation beforehand. I think I would probably try the 35mm lens too, because it is a faster lens. I haven't owned or used one, but I do have the 18-55 VRII which is a nice lens, but not the fastest. The 35mm will open to f1.8 and the 18-55 will only open to f3.5-5.6 depending on the focal length you use. Faster lens means more light at a higher shutter speed and lower ISO.

I am not recommending how to shoot this party, only on trying things out before the party.

OH, and your English is fine, rusty or not. Ha!

Anton5555

Thanks guys!! I'll try to practice before the real photos, and as it is my first time I think I'll switch to aperture mode to make it easier and not to screw up ��

cwgrizz

Challenge Team