Shooting in S mode; getting rid of "noise"?

TheWired

Hi everyone!

I've been able to do some great shots of scenery using the scene mode (always super clean and detailed), recently learned to shoot fireworks using the bulb function (not easy >,<), and even shooting single color / B&W photos.
However, I'm still a newbie to the Nikon D750 and have come across something I don't understand. I work with children and have had to take some photos a few times this past year but them always moving does not always make the task easy!

Basically, I would like to take photos of moving targets and get the "freeze" effect without having any blur.
I have tried auto and scene modes; the image is always very "clear" (detailed?) but the camera does not always shoot fast enough (leading to blurred motion images?).

I have recently tried shooting in S mode (that's shutter speed priority, right?) and got a disappointing surprise after my shooting session.
In a nutshell, all of the shots that I have taken gave me exactly what I wanted: absolutely no blur in any of the photos even while children were running around like crazy or jumping from rocks. That was the great part.

Sadly, all images shot that day have some sort of "noise"; I'm not sure how to explain it, it's almost like there is a "layer of very thin moiré" in all images. It wasn't super noticeable on a small / low resolution monitor (nor on the camera's preview screen) but I saw it right away when I got home and viewed images in 1440p.

Basically, the settings I used for shooting were: 1/4000, F4 and auto ISO sensitivity control was turned on. Other stuff displayed on my screen says HDR was off, white balance is auto, picture control is set to standard, Acting D lightning (I don't even know what that is :S) is off, High ISO NR is normal and image area is set to FX for largest area.