Noise & Sharpness with D7200

niknak612

Hi. I just got a 7200 a few months ago. I previously had the D7000 and absolutely loved it. I had two kit lenses with the 7000 and used the 18-105mm most often. I had awesome results and no complaints.

When I bought my 7200 I sold the 700 with that lens (the lens was broken anyway). I bought an 18-200mm Nikon lens that was recommended to me with the 7200. That is the lens that I've been using primarily now.

I'm finding that my photos with the 7200 are much grainier, noisier, and just in general less sharp than what I'm used to. I tend to use auto majority of the time, as I did with the 7000. I feel like I must have a setting or something wrong? Any suggestions? I'm not sure what. I've tried playing around with settings a bit, but I'm an amateur photographer and I'm just not seeming to be able to get it right.

Any help with reducing noise and increasing sharpness would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

cwgrizz

Challenge Team
First off @niknak612, welcome to the forum. If you could upload a photo or two that illustrate your problem, it would probably help with solving your problem.

Welcome to the forum.

Show us a example of one from the D7000 and one with the problem from the D7200. I suspect that you have a high ISO with the D7200. Shooting in AUTO is not necessarily the best way to shoot since you have no control at all of how it shoots. I also assume that you are shooting JPEG- Fine instead of shooting in RAW? If you are shooting in JPEG there are a few adjustments you can make to get a little more sharpness and I will add that at the end of this post.

this is how you need to upload the photos so that we can see the information we need. Also give us the EXIF data of each photo. (EXIF = Shutter speed, Aperture, ISO) this will help us help you.

Guidelines to adding a photo to your post.

1. Resize photo to 1000px on the long side.
2. Resolution set to 72ppi (Pixels Per Inch)