First Time Use: Odd Colors, Saturated, Washed Out Images - HELP!

jmrpixie

Yesterday I used my new D810 for the first time during an engagement session. When I came home to edit in Photoshop the colors are extremely off, saturated, washed out. If try to pump up the saturation, nothing happens AT ALL. If I try to brighten in Curves just a tiny bit, it washes out very quickly. I did notice it was auto set to sRGB and I shot with my old camera (D800) with Adobe. Not sure if this is the main problem? In camera color issue? I don't know what's wrong. Please help!!!

P.s. This is my first time using this site, I can give picture examples but idk how to attach from my computer.

Last edited:
First welcome to the site.

The first thing I would try is to do a factory reset on the camera just in case someone had played with the camera before you got it and changed some of all the settings.

A sample photo would help and be sure to add the EXIF data so we can see the details

Guidelines to adding a photo to your post.

1. Resize photo to 1000px on the long side.
2. Resolution set to 72ppi (Pixels Per Inch)

These guidelines will be good for viewing on a computer but will not be good for printing. This will help safeguard your copyright.

D200freak

How to factory reset the D810:

Turn the camera on.

On the top of the camera, there are two buttons marked with a green dot. QUAL on the left. exposure compensation (+/-) on the right.

Look at the camera's top LCD. Press and hold both buttons marked with the green dots, until the LCD display goes blank. Release the buttons.
When the LCD comes back, the camera has been reset.

After doing the factory reset, the first thing you want to learn about the D810 is how to use the white balance controls.