Fake Nikon

JH Foto

Last month I bought a Nikon d5300 with a Nikon 18-140mm lens from an eBay seller believing it to be a great deal. Soon after going out for the first time with my new gear I realised something was not quite right with the images it was producing, now I am no expert but I know enough about photography to know what to expect of my image in varying conditions and settings.
Both camera and lens look and feel like the real thing but I became suspicious when I tried to look up there serial numbers, they did not exist. I have come to the conclusion that they are Chinese copies, I have now resolved this situation but the moral is cheap is not necessarily the best, beware.

mikew_RIP

How did you look up the serial number,if you say they where fake i have to accept that but i dont see how any one can manage that,i can see how cameras and lenses go straight to the wholesaler direct from the factory and never get recorded with the likes of Nikon uk.
Just the thought of pulling everything together for fake cameras and lenses does not seem viable,it sounds more like a gray market thing rather than fake.

Fred Kingston

I have several Nikon lenses that are labeled "Made in China" They're far from fake. In fact, one, a 24-85mm G, just came back from Nikon Repair in Los Angeles less than a week ago... :confused:

mikew_RIP

Not all that OK spreading unsubstantiated rumors,as i say gray imports i can see,fake copies i struggle with the idea,ime open to being proved wrong though.

Blacktop

The only way I could see it being "fake", is when some were selling D800 cameras with the D800 label replaced with a D800E label. Some got ripped off that way, but I don't see how a whole camera could be fake.

hark

Administrator
Staff member
Super Mod