Automotive Photo Shoot

Will V|Photography

So I met the owner of this car...

Porsche 356 Cabriolet by FLWill, on Flickr

...over the weekend. He's a realy nice guy and seemed to really enjoy this shot. So much so that he wants a print for his home. He was also hinting at a possible shoot in the near future to cover the interior, engine, and the rest of the car. Therein lies the problem. I've never done a car shoot for profit before and I have no idea what to charge. This is also for personal usage (not a magazine) so that adds another aspect to the equation.

Anyone care to share their thoughts on this proposition? I'm certain I can handle the actual shoot, but what do I charge? Do I charge for my time and just provide a CD (I know, I know)? Do I do the shoot and just charge for prints? I'm completely lost in this area...

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
You could charge your time + prints. I would not give him a CD or digital files unless they would be sized for internet and could not be used or sold for future use in a print media without your knowledge. It's one thing to give out prints or files, but if the person sells the files afterwards, you loose big time.
Just my humble opinion.

JoeLewisPhotography