hdr blend issues?

thequeenscheese

Hi, can someone help0 me out, using photomatix to blend a hdr i repeatidly get quite grimm results:

origional 3 pics

photomatix_041.jpgphotomatix_042.jpgphotomatix_043.jpg

shot with a d5300 kit 18-55 lens using auto bracket option

result photo

photomatix_040.jpg

lightroom is a bit better using itself or merge in photoshop but gives similar noisy off colour results, i have used both before and got averagely decent results not sure if they were all with the d3200 i previously had tho - could i need an update for 5300 to run the programs correctly?, or is it just bad shooting from me?

thanks

paul04

I am no expert on this, but I would say that very high iso is not helping, and introducing a lot of noise.

Try and get more light on the subject to help getting that iso down.

BackdoorArts

You're using Auto ISO with HDR which can get you into higher ISOs than you want. That said, I also suspect you're merging JPEGs and not RAW files, which will contribute to this. I also find that the image barely requires bracketing to get a decent exposure. In the bracket series your 0 image is overexposed (blown out highlights) and the rest of your adjustments are based on that. Your underexposed image has no lost shadow detail and the over exposed image doesn't show me anything that your 0 image doesn't already have.

If you're shooting RAW, set the exposure on each image to -1.0 and then rerun from there and see what you get.

thequeenscheese

cheers I did suspect that iso is too high, what would you recommend with this camera? and why does the auto on the camera take it that high or even have that setting?

they are shot in raw not jpg.

I was after a darker image which is why I'd left the light as is, it was more of a point and shoot than a set up shot, not sure the few beers helped either haha