D70S Wide Angle for Real Estate Applications

Hi, I am new to the forum and would appreciate any help that you guys can provide me. I am new in the real estate business and will soon have the need to start photographing my listings. I plan on using Photomatix Pro software and shoot in HDR so that I can combine the same images with different exposures to really "bring out" the photos (forgive my lack of correct technical terms...I'm just getting started here ). I have a Nikon D70S with a Nikkor 18-70 mm 1:3.5-4.5 G lens. I have seen in other places that many people recommend the Tokina 12-24 mm for real estate photography applications. Others have also recommended a 16-35 mm lens. Here are my questions: 1. Will my existing 18-70 lens suffice since it will almost cover the 16-35mm range? 2-. I have a Digital Optics .5X Pro High Def with Macro lens adapter. Will this effectively convert my 18-70 lens into a 9-35 lens and will image quality remain consistent with the quality of the 18-70 lens? 3- If using the .5X adapter with the 18-70 mm lens is an option...I then have this issue: My 18-70 lens is 67mm and my macro adapter is 62mm. Do they make an adapter ring to adapt the 62mm base to the 67mm threads on the 18-70 mm? 4- Will the D70S shoot HDR with no issues? I am going to try and dig into the manual this weekend. Also ,Does anyone have any experience with the Tokina 12-24 mm lens? Thank you in advance for any and all help.

Last edited:

mikew_RIP

Welcome to the forum,not going to do much in the way of answering as my knowledge of wide angle is very limited,my thoughts on the D70s is i feel you may need to upgrade to something with a better sensor,good HDR is arrived at by taking a few shots from underexposed to correct and over exposed,then they are blended together,the older sensors will not cope as well with incorrect exposure.
Some later cameras have a built in type HDR but the D70s does not as far as i know.