Opinions on D7000 Replacements -- D90 or D300s

nmjameswilson

The D7000 has an issue with focus and I do not feel like taking the chance of it doing it to me again. I am going to opt for a different model. Do I loss that much with a D90 or should I go 300S? I am thinking one or the other. I am not a pro and I can always move up. Right now I am thinking D90.

Thanks in advance.

AxeMan - Rick S.

I can't speak for the D300S, but I can tell you that the D90 is a proven work horse in my eyes. I had a choice at the time to buy a D90 or a D7000, I got the D90 because of it's reputation, and I'm very happy with it.

With all the allege issues with the D7000 I'm glad I did. The only thing I would like to have is that new sensor in the D7000, and that is why I was drawn to it.

I'm sure there's some former D90 users on the board who now use the D300S, you'll have to wait for their input.

BTW the D90 comes with a 18-105 kit lens, which is under rated, it really a sweet lens.

My two cents worth.

gqtuazon

Gear Head
Go for the D300s if you want a bigger size camera, better AF (51 point with 3D which is similar to the pro and D700), more durable body, weather sealing, and better video. If you are just a casual shooter, then you can find a lot of bargain D90 around. Just match it with a better lens and flash and you'll be good to go.

Curt

Well all I can say is I have a D7000 and I have had no issues with it at all.
I have had it for about half a year now and it works great so far.
But if you really feel you don't want to get that model again go for the d300s.
It's close to the D7000 in a lot of the feature and a up grade from the D 90.

Browncoat

It's close to the D7000 in a lot of the feature and a upgrade from the D90.
Not really. The D300s shares most of its features with the D3.