Workflow

Jeff_J

First pardon me, if this has already been asked, but I didn’t find much with me searching.

I am looking for a general idea on how to handle the photos once I have taken them (a camera to storage idea). Currently once the photos have been taken, I transfer them (via copying in Windows) to my laptop drive. From there I create a folder for the different types. The folder name is the “Year subject” (2015 JH Football vs town name). I leave all the photo names the original. If I decide that I want to edit some, then I create a subfolder called “edits” and copy the ones in that I will edit. This is so I have the original and the edited one. After sometime passes I move these folders off my laptop to an external drive.

A little about my shooting. I am mainly a hobbyist and do not do any paid work or any work for anyone else. It is mostly family. My gear is this:

Laptop
External drive
Adobe Photoshop Elements
I just keep thinking that there is a better way than I am doing it now. But maybe not. I would like to hear some areas for improvements and/or suggestions.

lorenbrothers

Everybody is going to have a different method of organizing ..

for me I do basically like you.

Everything straight from the camera goes to a folder called 'originals' (all 40,000 of them) where they are batch filed by date first then basic description (2015-06-21 CAMPOUT) Then if I make alterations to a photograph I create sub-folders named depending on what I did (CROPPED, ART, B/W, etc.)

The photographs in the sub-folders that I feel are of special note get transferred to another drive and sorted into another series of folder by usage (ART > B/W > BUILDINGS, etc) or occasion (EX-WIFE'S FUNERAL, COMPETITIONS 2014, etc)

Under no circumstances do I delete any of the originals (unless they are hopelessly buggered up) and any changes are always placed in a separate folder. Took me a while to learn my lessons the hard way. ;) lol

Last edited:

Daz