Trouble focusing

Stefani

I am a novice photographer and have been volunteering at the animal shelter taking pictures of the cats for their website. I have been having trouble getting the cats in focus, probably 1 out of every 20 photos will be in focus. I am using a Nikon D3100 with a Nikkor 50mm lens. I am photographing in pretty poor light, I believe it is florescent light. I have the ISO set to 800 and normally shoot with the aperture as open as it will go. and I am using the auto AF. Does anyone have any recommendations of what settings to use? or pointers on the best way to photograph cats? I would love some advice.
Thanks,
Stefani

BackdoorArts

Post some examples with the EXIF data intact. When you say you're in "poor light" I suspect some of your "out of focus" may also be movement.

Stefani

Post some examples with the EXIF data intact. When you say you're in "poor light" I suspect some of your "out of focus" may also be movement.

Here is an example.

DSC_0016.jpg

And here is all the EXIF data.

Camera:Nikon D3100
Lens:AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G
Shot at 50 mm
Exposure:Auto exposure, Not Defined, [SUP]1[/SUP]/60 sec, f/2.2, ISO 400
Flash:Off, Did not fire
Focus:AF-A, at 75cm, with a depth of field of about 1.8cm, centered on the focus point
AF Area Mode: Auto-area
Date:September 13, 2015 1:37:39PM (timezone not specified)
(5 days, 23 hours, 43 minutes, 56 seconds ago, assuming image timezone of 7 hours behind GMT)
Time Zone Offset:-07:00
File:4,608 × 3,072 JPEG (14.2 megapixels)
3,023,323 bytes (2.9 megabytes)

If you re shooting "Wide open" which I assume is f1.8 then you have very shallow Depth of Field. This is not going to help your focus. Also with that lens you should be shooting at least 1/80 sec at a minimum.