DSLR Suggestion please

ssjsushil

Hi,

I'm new to photography and looking to buy my first DSLR. With some research, I decided to go with either Nikon D5300 or D7200.

When I compared their technical specs, below are the notable advantages of D7200 over D5300

• Faster Shutter Speed (1/8000 vs 1/4000)
  • Built in Focus Motor (Yes vs No)
  • Focus Points (51 vs 39)
  • FPS (6 vs 5)
  • Higher ISO
  • Price with 18-140mm lens ($950 vs $1500)
  • Even though the battery life is better in D7200, I can compensate by getting an extra battery if needed.

Now, I'm confused weather its a good idea to spend that extra $550 on D7200 or invest them on a prime lens like Nikon 50mm and a good zoom lens like Nikon 70-300mm.

Being a beginner, I want to learn the basics of photography. I'm interested in shooting Landscapes, Travel and Basic Wildlife.

Please advice. Greatly appreciate your suggestions.

Thank you.

Bill16

I would choose the D7200 over the D5300, and I think you'll find the controls much more convenient. I have the D7100 and I once had the D5100, and the D7100 wins hands down, which I believe the D7200 would win over the D5300 too! :)

WayneF

Now, I'm confused weather its a good idea to spend that extra $550 on D7200 or invest them on a prime lens like Nikon 50mm and a good zoom lens like Nikon 70-300mm.

Price is always a factor, but your list leaves out some big things.

Commander, FV Lock, faster sync shutter, HSS, flash has lots more options, etc.
Ability to use older lenses. The D5500 has to have AF-S lenses. Which are new and great, but lots of old lenses exist. (Oops, you said that. But there is also older non-CPU lenses too... or like maybe a telescope).
Options like Interval timer, mirror up, Depth of field preview, function button, etc.
Oops, I think D5300 has Interval timer. But there are several things that the D3xxx and D5xxxx cannot do, but the D7xxx and the bigger boys can do. I think that other than FX sensor, D7200 has all that Nikon offers.