55-300 or 70-300 ?

Toppers

I am looking at either 55-300 or the 70-300 as I have got a safari booked for sepetmber either of these be any good for it. beginner here BTW :)

Rick M

Re: Testing out the 55-300mm

Toppers- It would help to know what equipment you already have to give you more meaningful advice. They are both very good lenses. The 55-300 is for DX only, while the 70-300 can be used on full-frame also. If you have a dx camera and say a 18-55 already, the 55-300 is the most common choice, if you don't plan on going to a full frame camera. The 70-300 (VR) is generally considered a higher quality lens, but it will cost you about $200 more. Personally, my primary everyday lens is a 16-85, so I am planning on getting the 70-300 someday, I don't care for the 55mm cut off.

Rick M

sorry,

getting a D3100 at the end of the month brand new....

Assuming you get the kit with the 18-55, "most people" would opt for the 55-300. It is important to think ahead (unless you have a ton of money) when it comes to lenses, If your everday lense is not a 18-55 (or don't care about a gap in focal lengths) 70-300 VR could be a better long term investment (between those two choices).

Curt

I have the 70-300mm. and it is a fantastic lens, it cost a bit more but it is well worth it.
Remember on the D3100 (cropped sensor) it will be a 105-450mm. So you will be able to get up real close on that Safari
(which I am sure you want).

Curt