Need recomendation for D7000 lens..

Jughead28

I was recently given a D7000 with these lenses: 18-55mm VR, 35 mm prime 1.8/f, 55-300mm VR lens.... I started checking out night photography which I kind of love but I am a newbie to this .. So which of these lenses are better to take photo's at night?(i.e moon, buildings and so on). I recently just bought a tripod and a remote but at current moment I can't afford to buy a lens yet. Thank you for any suggestions that are given..

Last edited by a moderator:
Re: Neede recomendation for D7000 lens..

To shoot the moon you will need the long lens (55-300), tripod and practice. The 35MM prime1.8 will be great for buildings. Play with what you have. Practice till you get it right. Have fun now, NAS will come soon enough.

AxeMan - Rick S.

In my opinion it's not all about the gear / lens. It comes down to aperture and exposure time. A few years back I was taking lightning photos and night shots with a Kodak EZ share, yeah my Nikon does produce a better quality night shot, but I still had keeper photos with a point and shoot camera.

Best advice I can give is going out and play with your camera and your settings at night. I live out in the country so it's not uncommon for me to use a lower f/stop of 5.6 or under, but if I'm shooting in the city I might be shooting at f/22. It all depends on how much or how little light you have to work with.

If you're trying to photograph the moon, treat it as a daylight shot and not a night shot. How soon we forget the moon is being lit up by the sun, even though our surroundings are dark.

If your night photos have a red cast to them, then you're over exposed at the aperture setting. Use a smaller aperture or use less of an exposure time.

That's my 2-cents worth.

Jughead28