A Writing Opportunity

Browncoat

My photography internship at the newspaper took an interesting turn last week. I have been asked to test my reporter skills as well by writing a feature story on a local farmer who is still farming at age 90. I know the man as he and my grandfather were friends, so it was decided that this assignment should be given to me. I've made contact with him and he is willing to do the story, we just have to find a convenient time so that I can go talk with him.

This will be a first for me. I've never done anything like this before, so I need a bit of help here. What kind of questions should I ask this guy? What would make you want to read this story?

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Anthony, congrats on the offer the newspaper is giving you. From reading your posts, I think you have a great opportunity there just to show your talent. I find your writing very nicely done.
As far as questions, I think you should just go there, bring a recorder and talk. Interesting things to ask would be what is the single change he's seen that changed his life the most in all these years, does he find that nature (weather) has changed much all over these years, what does he think of pollution…chemical fertilizers.
I'm sure you'll find other things or he will lead you to other things. Just let him talk about the old days and his relationship with your grandpa.
Just have fun and try to learn as much as you can from the interview while keeping it simple for him.
Best of good fortune with this chance you have.

PavementPilot

I would start off with what got him into farming, family tradition or to make money as a business and let it flow from there. Ask about some funny and serious situations that come to mind. What changes he has seen in the farming industry in his time as a farmer.

PhotoAV8R

My father-in-law was a farmer and I always was interested to hear "how it was" way back when.