My first thoughts on my 1st DSLR, D7200

Flapjack23

So after saving money since last spring, hopelessly researching, hoping, and waiting, I ended up pre-ordering a D7200 in early March from B&H. Largely I took the advice my dad offered me and went with the 7xxx series due to the more pro-sumer features, the ability to use legacy lenses, and control platform. I was originally going to purchase a D7100 but the rumors starting surfacing about the D7200... Being the tech junkie I am I waited and when announced I pulled the trigger.

My camera was shipped Thursday and was delivered Friday at 6:00. I had taken the first half of the day off to await delivery and had to leave at 6:30 so I didnt have much time to do anything except set up the shooting options. At work and between calls (I am a firefighter) I managed to charge the battery and look through the manual a bit. I did look over thexcamera a bit and started looking through the features and menus. Not having owned or used a SLR camera (or a DSLR ever) in 10+ years I was I was quickly overwhelmed with what this camera is capable of and how much I have to learn.

My first impressions: camera seems "solid". It has substantial heft in the hand and appears well made. The controls seem well laid out and user friendly. The AF system is complicated but seems very versatile. It seems to function crisply. I have a lot of learning to do. I would imagine someone familiar with a D7100 would feel at home with this camera in their hand.

Reading posts on this forum has given me more information than I can use but with camera in hand I think I will start figuring it all out.

A chance not taken is a wasted opportunity

egosbar