Black and White

Jacqueline

I took the following picture expecting that it would look more interesting in black and white. I'm new to digital photography in general, wasn't especially experienced with film photography before that and I haven't worked in black and white in about twenty years. Although I'd appreciate any comments, I'd particularly be interested in those related to working with black and white.

DSC_0007.jpg

Here's the link to the black and white version:
Flowers - Nikonites Gallery

Jacqueline

Sorry, I forgot the EXIF data:

Camera Info
Device: Nikon D90
Lens: VR 18-105mm F/3.5-5.6G
Focal Length: 105mm
Focus Mode: AF-A
AF-Area Mode: Auto
VR: ON
AF Fine Tune:
Exposure
Aperture: F/9
Shutter Speed: 1/1250s

Is this the right information?

fotojack

Tell you the truth, I like this shot better in it's original colour mode. In my opinion,black and white doesn't lend itself well to flower shots, because you're missing the whole point of taking the shot of the flower in the first place. With flowers and plants, I want to see the colour. To me, black and white shots should be about people, things, certain places, situations, close ups of faces, etc etc. Do a Google on Louise Fryer, photographer, and you'll see what I mean. This woman's B&W shots are spectacular.

Last edited:

jengajoh

I agree with Jack. I like the color one best. It's hard to get a good photo of a flower in BW, especially if you show us the color one. Flowers are colorful, people want to see that.

I just noticed you're in Maryland. Me too, where about?

Browncoat

In my opinion,black and white doesn't lend itself well to flower shots, because you're missing the whole point of taking the shot of the flower in the first place.